Thomas Hoste

Since the hurdy-gurdy crossed his path, Thomas has been enchanted by the rich sound of this unique instrument. The infatuation became a true passion. Thomas followed intensive workshops & internships domestically (Martina Diessner, Iep Fourier, Hans Quaghebeur…) and abroad (Gregory Jolivet, Gilles Chabenat, Isabelle Pignol, Valentin Clastrier…)

Several years later he turned to the crank himself with the young folk bands Kléan, Barnabas & Findus. Now he tours throughout Western Europe with the established balfolk formation Cecilia (with Jan Leeflang and Greet Wuyts) and since the summer of 2013 also with the promising young folk band Elanor. Since the spring of 2018, he is the new hurdy-gurdy player at Aidreann and he takes care of the traditional touch at the large-scale project “FolKK” (Folk meets KleinKunst) (a collaboration between Nekka & MuzMoz with Walter Evenepoel as an inspirer). In addition, he is a frequently requested guest musician at different ensembles.

Thanks to his background in computer science, Thomas can combine ancient sounds with the most modern sound techniques. This recently resulted in a new drone project duo: mOthA (with Maarten Marchau). mOthA is an integral part of a new project, Rooted: De Manen Opzij. For this production, Muziekcentrum Dranouter puts two musicians who are engaged in an innovative way with folk / traditional music in Flanders in confrontation with two equally innovative musicians from different musical directions.

For many years, Thomas has also been a permanent instructor of his instrument, i.a. at the Stichting Draailier & Doedelzak (the Netherlands), at the non-profit association Westelfolk and at the academies of Dranouter, Gooik and Ghent.

Thomas Hoste

Depuis que la vielle est apparue sur son chemin, Thomas s’est laissé ensorceler par la richesse sonore de cet instrument unique. L’amour qu’il éprouvait pour la vielle est devenu une véritable passion. Thomas a participé à des ateliers et des stages intensifs sur le territoire national (Martina Diessner, Iep Fourier, Hans Quaghebeur…) et à l’étranger (Gregory Jolivet, Gilles Chabenat, Isabelle Pignol, Valentin Clastrier…)

Quelques années plus tard, il tournait la manivelle avec les jeunes groupes folks Kléan, Barnabas & Findus. À présent, il est en tournée dans toute l’Europe occidentale avec l’ensemble bal folk reconnu « Cecilia » (avec Jan Leeflang et Greet Wuyts) et depuis l’été 2013, également avec le jeune groupe folk très prometteur « Elanor ». Depuis le printemps 2018, il est le nouveau joueur de vielle d’Aidreann et il s’occupe de la touche traditionnelle du projet de grande envergure « FolKK » (Folk recontre KleinKunst) (une collaboration entre Nekka et MuzMoz avec Walter Evenepoel comme inspirateur). Parallèlement, il est aussi régulièrement invité à jouer avec différents ensembles.

Grâce à ses connaissances informatiques, Thomas sait combiner les sons anciens aux technologies sonores les plus modernes. Cela a récemment abouti à un nouveau duo de « drone »-projet: mOthA (avec Maarten Marchau).

Thomas est également professeur de son instrument de prédilection depuis des années, notamment à la Fondation Vielle à roue & Cornemuse (Stichting Draailier & Doedelzak) aux Pays-Bas, l’asbl Westelfolk et les académies de Dranouter, Gooik et Gand.